Map Permissions and Metadata of Users or Groups with Sharegate

Want to make sure all your users get the right permissions in your new environment? In this video, we'll see how the Users and Groups mapping window will copy the data and permissions to the right users.

Transcript:

When migrating structures or content, Sharegate automatically maps all users and groups to ensure all metadata and permissions are copied over and associated with the right people. Sometimes, users won’t be mapped because they don’t exist in the destination environment. There are many reasons why this might happen. It could be that you have an Orphaned user or as simple as a person who changes their name once they get married. In cases like this, they will become unresolved users.

By default, if the unresolved users are not mapped, we'll map them in the background with the current Sharegate user's name. Meaning all the user value fields and permissions attached to your unresolved users will be replaced with your Sharegate service account at the destination.

To avoid that, you can map all Orphaned users to another account if needed or manually search for each user at the source and map them with the desired user at destination. This way, all the metadata and permissions assigned with the source users will be transferred to the users of your choosing.

If by any chance, you forget to manually map an unresolved user, Sharegate will use the default mapping for unresolved users on the first line of the mapping. Our suggestion is to create a dummy account and map it with the unresolved users to create a fallback and make sure no permissions will fall into the wrong hands.

Finally, here's one thing to keep in mind: if you are migrating to Office 365 using the Insane mode, the values and permissions of Orphaned users will be copied at destination. These values and permissions will not be assigned to an account but a fictive placeholder.

Mapping users and groups has never been so simple.

Read video transcript